1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer>

Early orthodontic treatment

Many parents often have a question about the age when the orthodontist should be contact the first time?

Most of the malocclusion begin to form at an early age during the eruption of the first permanent teeth (6-7 years), and this period is called a mixed dentition. The causes of abnormality are not only genetic predisposition, but also acquired causes, such as bad habits and improper feeding of the child. Unfortunately, most of these abnormalities remain unnoticed by parents.

Crooked teeth are considered to be insignificant, unimportant issue. However, the malocclusion is accompanied by the development of caries and its complications, gum diseases and early tooth loss, speech disorders, and common diseases. Besides, it frequently affects the aesthetics of the face and as a consequence, causes a complex social adaptation of a child in the children's team.

As a result, the orthodontic treatment occurs in the late childhood or adulthood.

Unfortunately, not all occlusion pathologies can be and are better treated at a later age. Such pathologies include:

1. Class III malocclusion (underdevelopment of the upper jaw in sagittal plane)

The most favorable age for the treatment of class III malocclusion is from 6 to 12 years. (For details and methods of treatment, see Chapter Before and After)

In case the patient is treated after the growth zone is closed, the treatment of class III will not be an effective, and only the option of the combined approach will remain relevant (orthognathic surgery) after the age of 18 years.

2. Open bite( an anterior open bite is defined by a vertical space between the upper and lower front teeth.)

The most common causes of the open bite are diseases of upper respiratory tract (rough nasal breathing), bad habits like thumb sucking, heredity, trauma,cleft palate and alveolar process.

3. Class II division II

Characterized by underdevelopment of mandible in sagittal plane,and retroclined the upper incisors., in which case it is necessary to normalize the inclination of the upper incisors forward to give a chance to the lower jaw to grow forward and take the correct position in the skull.

4. Patients with cleft palate and alveolar process

This group of patients often needs to expand the upper jaw and provide space for the following replanting of the bone, and covering the defect.

All the other bite pathologies, in our opinion, are best treated in one stage in the permanent dentition period and just before the peak of growth (12-15 years). The treatment of class II division I and deep bite cases, and their combination in the mixed dentition can lead to unstable results. Since it is known that the stability of treatment is determined by the ideal and maximum contact between the teeth of the upper and lower jaws, and in the mixed dentition there are still worn deciduous teeth in the lateral parts of the jaw.

1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer>

Раннее ортодонтическое лечение

У многих родителей часто возникает вопрос: В каком возрасте нужно первый раз обращаться к ортодонту?

Большинство патологий прикуса начинает формироваться в раннем возрасте при прорезывании первых постоянныхзубов(6-7 лет), — этот период называется сменным прикусом. Причинами возникновения нарушений является не только наследственная предрасположенность, но и приобретённые причины, такие как  вредные привычки и неправильное кормление ребенка. К сожалению, большая часть таких патологий остается незамеченной родителями. 

Кривые зубы считают малозначительной, несущественной проблемой. Однако патологии прикуса сопутствуют развитию кариеса и его осложнений, заболеваниям десен и ранней потере зубов,возникновению вторичной деформации прикуса,нарушениям  речи, общим заболеваниям и часто сказываются на эстетике лица и как следствие- сложная социальная адаптация ребенка в детском коллективе.

В результате обращении к ортодонту происходит в юношеском или взрослом возрасте.

К сожалению, не все патологии прикуса можно и лучше лечить в поздном возрасте. К таким патологиям относятся:

1. Мезиальный прикус (недоразвитие верхней челюсти по сагитальной плоскости)

Самый благоприятный возраст для лечения мезиального прикуса от 6 до 10 лет (детали и способы лечение см. в главе до и после).

В случае обращении пациента после закрытия зоны роста лечение мезиального прикуса будет неэффективным и останется актуальным только вариант комбинированного лечение (ортодония с последующим  хирургическим вмешательсвом) в возрасте после 18 лет.

2. Открытый прикус (зубы нижней и верхней челюсти  не смыкаются)

Самые частые причины открытого прикуса — заболевания ЛОР-органов (затрудненное носовое дыхание),вредные привычки(сосание пальцев, наследственность, травма, несращение нёба и альвеоларного отроста).

3. Дистальный прикус ретрузии верхних резцов (II класс II подкласс по Энглю)

Характеризуется недорозвитием нижней челюсти в сагитальной плоскости, что связано с задним наклоном верхних резцов. В этом случае  необходимо нормализовать наклон верхних резцов вперёд  для того,  чтобы дать нижней челюсти шанс расти вперёд и занять правильное положение в скелетном черепе.

4. Пациенты с врождённым несращением неба и алвеолярного отростка

Данная группа пациентов часто нуждается в расширении верхней челюсти и обеспечении места  для следующей подсадки кости и закритии дефекта .

Все остальные патологии прикуса, по нашему мнению, лучше лечить одним этапом в период постоянного прикуса и непосредственно перед пиком роста (12-15 лет). Лечение дистального и глубокого  прикуса, а также их сочетание в сменном прикусе, может привести к нестабильному результату. Стабильность лечения определяется идеальными и максимальными контактами между зубами верхней и нижней челюсти, а в сменном прикусе ещё присутствуют стёртые молочные зубы в боковых участках челюсти.